April 12, 2016. Louisville, KY. Some of the top basketball recruits in the country arrive in Louisville tomorrow for the 44th annual Derby Festival Basketball Classic presented by Papa John’s this Friday, April 15. This year’s roster includes players ranked in the Top 100 nationally by recruiting services Rivals.com, Scout.com and 247sports.com; UK recruit Brad Calipari; Indiana signees Curtis Jones and De’Ron Davis and University of Louisville walk-on Tyler Sharpe. The players will also participate in the Horseshoe Foundation Night of the Future Stars on Thursday, April 14, at New Albany High School.

“The players recognize that this game is played in front of the greatest and most knowledgeable basketball fans in the world,” said Keith Conrad, Recruiting Co-Chair. “We expect for them to put on quite a show.”

Jim Shannon, Head Coach of the New Albany High School Bulldogs State Championship Team, will be one of the All-Star Team coaches, joining Coach Richard Gatewood from Taylor County High School. His Cardinals made it to this year’s Kentucky Boys Sweet Sixteen quarterfinals.

First held in 1973, the Derby Festival Basketball Classic is the oldest high school all-star game in the nation. The game has featured such players as Jamal Mashburn, Rex Chapman, Moses Malone, Isiah Thomas, Dominique Wilkins, Eric Bledsoe, Deron Williams and Nolan Smith, among many others.

Admission to the Horseshoe Foundation Night of the Future Stars is free with a ticket to the Basketball Classic. Some of the event’s most exciting moments have occurred during the Slam Dunk, 2-on-2 and 3-Point Shooting competitions. There will also be a one-hour autograph-signing session following the event, with a two-item limit for signing.

TICKETS STILL AVAILABLE:  Basketball Classic Reserved Tickets $18 in advance and $20 at the door. Tickets on sale at all TicketMaster locations, www.ticketmaster.com or call (800) 745-3000 or the Freedom Hall box office at (502) 367-5144 (Includes facility fee).

The Basketball Classic is presented by Papa John’s, with Contributing Sponsor Horseshoe Foundation of Floyd County.  Media Sponsors are 99.7 DJX, B96.5 FM, Old School 105.1 and SLAM Magazine.



(AS OF 4/12/2016)


Player Pos Ht College
Brad Calipari G 6-0 Kentucky
De’Riante Jenkins F 6-5 VCU
Derek Funderburk C 6-9 Ohio St.
Eli Wright G 6-4 Mississippi St.
Joey Brunk C 6-10 Butler
Mario Kegler F 6-7 Mississippi St.
Mustapha Heron G 6-5 Auburn
Quentin Goodin G 6-3 Xavier
Temple Gibbs G 6-3 Notre Dame
Jarron Cumberland G 6-4 Cincinnati

Coach Kevin Klein – St. X (KY)

Coach Richard Gatewood – Taylor Co (KY)



Player Pos Ht College
Curtis Jones G 6-4 Indiana
De’Ron Davis F 6-10 Indiana
Eron Gordon G 6-2 Undecided
Tyler Sharpe G 6-1 Louisville
Jared Harper G 5-11 Auburn
CJ Walker G 6-0 Florida St.
Matthew Moyer F 6-7 Syracuse
Micah Thomas F 6-7 Maryland
James Banks C 6-10 Texas
Carson Williams F 6-5 Northern KY

Coach Jim Shannon – New Albany (IN)

Coach James Schooler – Fern Creek (KY)

June 21 - June 21