Royal Court®

Each year, it begins with more than 100 applicants. Then, 30 finalists are selected. Finally, five young women are selected as the Royal Court® Princesses. These young women represent the Kentucky Derby Festival and the city of Louisville as official ambassadors for the springtime tradition of the Festival. Over the two-week period, they attend nearly 70 events.

One of the Princesses will be crowned the Derby Festival Queen by a spin-of-the-wheel at the annual Fillies Derby Ball on April 16, 2016. Each woman will receive a $2,000 scholarship ($1,000 from the Fillies and $1,000 from the Kentucky Derby Festival Foundation).

Candidates for the Princess Program must maintain a minimum 3.0 grade point average and are selected by a panel of three out-of-state judges. Criteria for selection includes knowledge of the Derby Festival, poise, intelligence, personality and campus and community involvement. The Derby Festival’s Royal Court Program is coordinated by The Fillies, Inc., a volunteer group that works closely with the Festival.

For additional information, contact Deb Rayman at

Millicent 1

Millicent Ashley Cahoon of Louisville, KY – Millicent is a junior at the University of Kentucky majoring in Psychology.  She is a member of the Psi Chi Honor Society, has been on the Dean’s List for four semesters, is conducting her own Social Psychology Experiment and is pursuing a non-profit certification.  Millicent volunteers with Beyond Big Blue.


Andi 1

Loandria “Andi” Julia Dahmer of Fisherville, KY – Andi is a Freshman at Western Kentucky University majoring in Economics, International Affairs and Spanish, as well as Asian Religions and Cultures. She is a Cherry Presidential Scholar, Chinese Language Flagship Program participant and Student Government Association Senator.  Andi also volunteers for the Humane Society.


Stephanie 1

Stephanie Dooper of Owensboro, KY – Stephanie is a Senior at the University of Louisville majoring in Political Science and Liberal Studies.  She is the Founder of The Roosevelt Institute Campus Chapter, a Cardinal Host and Recipient of the University of Louisville Outstanding Community Engagement Award.  She also volunteers for Habitat for Humanity.



Madison 1

Madison Kristine Orman of Prospect, KY – Madison is a Junior at the University of Louisville majoring in Business Finance.  She is a Trustee’s Scholar, has been on the Dean’s List for 5 semesters, is a Cardinal Host and a Pointe & Contemporary Dancer. She also volunteers for Neighborhood House and the American Red Cross.


Adrienne 1

Adrienne Georgann Poole of Brandenburg, KY – Adrienne is a Freshman at the University of Kentucky majoring in Marketing.  She is Co President of UK Phi Beta Lambda, Member of Student Government Leadership Development Program and News reporter for Meade County Messenger.  She is also an Independent Marketing Contractor with the Goodwill Industries of Kentucky.


1957 – Jackie Love
1958 – Pat Travis
1959 – Martha Layne Hall (future Governor Collins)
1960 – Lillian Campbell
1961 – Dillard Marr
1962 – Jane Helm
1963 – Judy Roach
1964 – Trudie Musson
1965 – Jennifer Burcham
1966 – Lynne Girdler
1967 – Julie Short
1968 – Lynn Morris Haymond
1969 – Melinda Milliken
1970 – Starr Sprigg
1971 – Jennifer Lynn Storm
1972 – Gail Gorski
1973 – Julie Williams
1974 – Marion R. McCord
1975 – Annette Grundy
1976 – Kathy Carpenter
1977 – Robin Marie Clore
1978 – Elizabeth Page Penna
1979 – Ronda Marie Hartlage
1980 – Holly Wright
1981 – Gwen Francis Hettinger
1982 – Mia Todd
1983 – Lala Michele Thomas
1984 – Jessica Elizabeth Thomas
1985 – Peggy Barton
1986 – Kristen Zapata
1987  – Jennifer Lynn Stratton
1988 – Christina Lynn Levy
1989 – Margaret McGaw
1990 – Heather Marie Peet
1991 – Kristi Wright
1992 – Michelle Gaines
1993 – Preethi Anathakrishnan
1994 – Melissa Purvis
1995 – Tara Lutz
1996 – Charliese Brown
1997 – Leslie Ann Corbett
1998 – Natalie Ann Hallal
1999 – Michelle Elaine Ackerman
2000 – Kerri Richardson
2001 – Anne Marie Abell
2002 – Caryn Rae Willian
2003 – Rebecca DeSensi
2004 – Maria Maldonado
2005 – Brittany Diane Carpenter
2006 – Patti Jo Grice
2007 – Charlee Doom
2008 – Taléa Renee Drummer
2009 – Harini Chenna
2010 – Megan Imel
2011 – Trisha Maclin
2012 – Kaelyn Gault
2013 – Cameryn Jones
2014 – Julia Springate
2015 – Briana Lathon